Aylburton Village Club

Memorial Hall and Playing Field
Charity:  301460

"Let those who come after see to it that their names are not forgotten "


 The Memorial Hall and Playing Field are run by a trust, the Aylburton Village Club, which is a registered charity. It was formed in 1922 to commemorate those of the village who fell in the First World War. The land and buildings were paid for by public subscription and a generous donation by Charles Bathurst, 1st Viscount Bledisloe. The object of the Club is "to provide a place of physical and mental recreation and improvement for the benefit of the inhabitants of the Parish of Aylburton without distinction of sex or of political, religious or other opinions." 

 At present there are 10 trustees:
Bob Berryman (Chair), Sheila Berryman (Treasurer), Beth Goldsworthy (Secretary), Peter Clarke, Dan Keddle, Ian Lilley, Simon Rutherford, Mark Sargent, Roy Thomas and Jeannie Williams. They serve for 3 years and can be re-elected. The officers of the Club must be re-elected every year.

 The Club relies entirely on the efforts of the trustees and public support to keep this important community facility open. The annual village carnival is held to raise money for the upkeep of the Hall and Field.

 The Club is always keen to hear from anyone who feels that they have the personal skills and experience needed to help in the running of the Hall and would like to become a trustee. The Annual General Meeting held every February is an occasion when the trustees report on the work of the Club to the community.



The Memorial Garden

The Hall and Cottage before the official opening
at Easter, 1921

Aylburton Memorial Hall